top of page

2018 Mandurah Masters AGM

The Annual General Meeting of Mandurah Masters Swimming Inc. was held at 7:00pm on 28 February 2018 at MARC Club Rooms. By all reports a very cordial and successful evening with nearly half of our members in attendance, including: founding member Kathy McLeod; Club Life Members Gerry Green and Wayne Cable; and Masters Swimming Australia Life Member Ivan Wingate.

After receiving reports from the President, Treasurer, Coaching Director, and Recorder, the Club Committee for 2018 was elected as follows:

President Deb Bloor 0437 167 823 Vice President Joel Lewis 0419 913 475 Secretary Marta Daniel 0427 631 570 Treasurer Steve Ferguson 0414 359 402 Coaching Director Mike Bennett 0419 954 583 Club Captain Jennifer Rollin-Busby 0452 204 087

Recorder Helen Cahill 0466 439 008 Registrar Hazel Cockram 0438 880 243

Public Relations Paul Jacklin 0418 560 569 Property Officer Sue Giles 0421 909 581 OWS Coordinator Steve Ferguson 0414 359 402 Social Officer Glenda Hurtado 0413 124 568 Safety Officer Greg Cockram 0427 279 004 Club Photographer Ivan Wingate 9586 1485

A warm welcome to new committee members: Deb, Joel, Marta, Helen and Sue G. A very big thank you to the outgoing committee members for all their hard work, namely: Steve C, Colleen, Sue Mc, Sue J and Rosemary. Well done for signing on for another year to: Steve F, Mike, Jen, Hazel, Paul, Glenda, Greg and Ivan.

This year, to honour our life members, pins were commissioned and presented Gerry, Graeme, Wayne and Gerda (on behalf of Ken). In addition, a Honour Board was commissioned that lists the names and year of winning of all the Kathy McLeod Best Club Persons, as well as the names and year of award of all our Life Members. This will be proudly displayed in our Club Rooms at MARC.

The highlight of the evening was the presentation of Club Awards for 2017. The awards and the winners were:

Kathy McLeod Best Club Person: Glenda Hurtado (citation)

Presented to the Club member who has shown the most improvement in their swimming and is a dedicated role model for our Club. Evaluation is done by the President and Coaching Director. The trophy was donated by, named after and presented by Kathy McLeod who was one of the founding members in 1993.

Endurance 1000 Swim Award: Rosemary Green Awards may be presented to the two top point scorers participating in aerobic swims, as per the National Endurance 1000 scoring sheet, providing their point score exceeds the minimum points criteria set by the Management Committee in January for that year.

Club Challenge Swim Award: Pauline Wingate & Mike Bennett

The award is made to the two swimmers with the highest aggregate of swim points attained at Club Challenge swim events.

Coaching Director's Award: Mandy Kelly

This award is made at the sole discretion of the current Coaching Director and not without some difficulty.

FINA Swim Excellence Award: Gerda Williams

The award was made to the member with the highest FINA point score for an individual swim, as per the MSA Result Portal score. This award is intended to recognise the best individual swim of the year across all age groups. For 2017, in the 75 to 79 year Age Group, Gerda swam 50m Short Course Backstroke in a time of 45.77 (only 2.3 secs outside the FINA world record [at the time] of 43.46), which scored a staggering 856 points. As a measure of the great year Gerda has had, she was also runner up with a 818 point swim. Rebekah Weller was 3rd with a 722 point swim, which by the way was a National Record! Tough competition when setting a National Record only gets you 3rd place.

Open Water Swim Award: 1st: Jen Rollin-Busby & 2nd: Stephen Ferguson

The award is made to the two swimmers with the highest aggregate of swim points attained in MSWA accredited open water swim events. In the 2016/2017 MSWA Open Water Season, Jen won her Age Group with score of 72 points and Steve was 3rd in his Age Group with 34 points.

Fitness, Friendship & Fun Award: Jenny Crake (citation)

The award is made to the member who most embodies the values of Masters Swimming Australia of Fitness, Friendship and Fun. As determined by a sub-committee of the President and two co-opted members.

"New" Service Award: Des Seery (citation)

The award was created in the memory of club stalwart Ken Phillips who passed away in 2017. The award is made to the member who has given outstanding service to the Club and is presented at the discretion of the committee.

Congratulations to all the winners. The night concluded with convivial discussion, as well as the consumption of copious amounts of Pizza and Wine.

Let's all look forward to another great year in 2018!


Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
bottom of page