2019 Mandurah Masters AGM

March 1, 2019

The Annual General Meeting of Mandurah Masters Swimming Inc. was held at 7:00pm on 27 February 2019 at MARC Club Rooms. It was a very productive and successful evening with a healthy turn out members, including: founding member Kathy McLeod; Club Life Members Gerry Green and Wayne Cable; and Masters Swimming Australia Life Member Ivan Wingate.


Reports were presented by the President, Treasurer, Coaching Director, and Recorder.  This was followed by voting on Special Resolutions to adopt new Rules of Association and updated By-laws. Both passed unanimously.  Next the Club Committee for 2019 was elected as follows:


President                Deb Bloor                 0437 167 823    deborahbloor@westnet.com.au
Vice President         Joel Lewis                 0419 913 475    joel1962@iinet.net.au
Secretary               Ann Ferguson             0400 224 680    annjferguson1@gmail.com
Treasurer               Steve Ferguson          0414 359 402    stephenaferguson1@gmail.com
Coaching Director   Des Seery                  0417 954 173    desmoh@iinet.net.au
Club Captain          Jennifer Rollin-Busby   0452 204 087    jrollinbusby@gmail.com

Recorder               Helen Cahill                0466 439 008    helenmandurahmannas@gmail.com
Registrar               Hazel Cockram           0438 880 243     hazelc22@hotmail.com

Public Relations     Deb Brown                 0448 535 755     dabkin@hotmail.com
OWS Coordinator   Steve Ferguson          0414 359 402     stephenaferguson1@gmail.com
Social Officer         Glenda Hurtado          0413 124 568     wagingirl@gmail.com
Safety Officer        To be confirmed          
Club Photographer Ivan Wingate             9586 1485          ivan.wingate@myplace.net.au


A warm welcome to new committee members: Ann, Des & Deb. A very big thank you to the outgoing committee members for all their hard work, namely: Mike and Marta.  Well done for signing on for another year to: Deborah, Joel, Steve, Jen, Helen, Hazel, Glenda, and Ivan.

The highlight of the evening was endorsing two new honorary life members, namely: Pauline and Ivan Wingate. Honorary Life Membership is bestowed sparingly and only to candidates who have contributed outstanding service of lasting importance to the club. In that regard, Pauline and Ivan were excellent nominations. After reading their citations, President Deb presented them with life member pins and certificates. Pauline and Ivan's names have also been added to the Club Honor Board, joining club life members: Gerry, Graeme, Ken (dec) and Wayne.


Then it was time to present the Club Awards for 2018.  The awards and the winners were:


Kathy McLeod Best Club Person: Ken & Cathy Isbister (citation)

Presented to the Club member who has shown the most commitment to their swimming and is a dedicated role model for our Club.  The trophy was donated by, named after and presented by Kathy McLeod who was one of the founding members in 1993.


Club Challenge Swim Award: Gerda Williams & Mike Bennett

The award is made to the two swimmers with the highest aggregate of swim points attained at Club Challenge swim events.


Coaching Director's Award: Anna Gstaettner

This award is made at the sole discretion of the current Coaching Director and not without some difficulty.


FINA Swim Excellence Award: Gerda Williams

The award was made to the member with the highest FINA point score for an individual swim, as per the MSA Result Portal score. This award is intended to recognise the best individual swim of the year across all age groups. For 2018, in the 75 to 79 year Age Group, Gerda swam 200m Long Course Backstroke in a time of 3:46.36, which scored an amazing 751 points.


Open Water Swim Award: 1st: Jen Rollin-Busby & 2nd: Rebekah Weller

The award is made to the two swimmers with the highest aggregate of swim points attained in MSWA accredited open water swim events.  In the 2017/2018 MSWA Open Water Season, Jen won her Age Group with score of 96 points and Rebekah won her Age Group with 62 points.


Fitness, Friendship & Fun Award: Steve Crake (citation)

The award is made to the member who most embodies the values of Masters Swimming Australia of Fitness, Friendship and Fun. As determined by a sub-committee of the President and two co-opted members.  This is becoming a family affair, with Jenny winning last year and Steve this year.


Service Award: Steve Ferguson (citation)

The award was created in the memory of club stalwart Ken Phillips who passed away in 2017. The award is made to the member who has given outstanding service to the Club and is presented at the discretion of the committee.


Congratulations to all the winners. The night concluded with convivial discussion, as well as the consumption of copious amounts of Pizza and Wine.


Let's all look forward to another great year in 2019!


Please reload

Recent Posts

August 10, 2020

Please reload

Search By Tags
Please reload

Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic


Mail: Mandurah Masters Swimming Inc. PO Box 1307, Mandurah WA 6210    Email: mandurahmannas@gmail.com