2017 Mandurah Masters AGM

February 16, 2017

The Annual General Meeting of Mandurah Masters Swimming Inc. was held at 7:00pm on 15 February 2017 at MARC Club Rooms. By all reports a very cordial and successful evening with nearly half of our 78 members in attendance, including: founding member Kathy McLeod; Club Life Members Gerry Green, Ken Phillips and Wayne Cable; and Masters Swimming Australia Life Member Ivan Wingate.


After receiving reports from the President, Treasurer, Coaching Director, and Recorder, the Club Committee for 2017 was elected as follows:


President:             Steve Crake              0437 167 823   crakes@wn.com.au
Vice President:      Steve Ferguson         0414 359 402   stephenaferguson1@gmail.com
Secretary:             Colleen Wray            0439 979 359   colleen.wray62@gmail.com
Treasurer:             Sue McDonald           0408 928 084   m0074@live.com.au
Coaching Director: Mike Bennett             0419 954 583   mikebennett3@bigpond.com
Club Captain:         Jennifer Rollin-Busby 0452 204 087   jrollinbusby@gmail.com
Recorder:              Sue Johnston            0414 769 442   sejohnston61@gmail.com
Registrar:             Hazel Cockram           0438 880 243   hazelc22@hotmail.com
Public Relations:    Paul Jacklin               0418 560 569   paul.jacklin1@bigpond.com
Property Officer:    Rosemary Green        9586 2995       rosie.green@hotmail.com
OWS Coordinator:  Wayne Cable             0427 005 524   wayne.cable@hotmail.com

Safety Officer:       Greg Cockram            0427 279 004   gregcockram@yahoo.com.au
Social Officers:       Glenda Hurtado         0413 124 568   wagingirl@gmail.com

                            Ken Phillips               0416 824 667   kandgphillips@iprimus.com.au


A warm welcome to new members: Colleen, Jennifer, Hazel, Paul, Greg, Glenda and Ken.

A very big thank you to the outgoing members for all their hard work, namely: Janet, John, Pauline, Ray and Wayne & Co.  Well done for signing on for another year to: Steve C, Steve F, Sue Mc, Mike, Sue J, Rosemary, and Wayne.

After the election, a special resolution was passed to amend the Club By-Laws.
The amendments were needed to reflect changes in club activities, update terminology and be consistent with current practice, as well as to include for new awards and improved open water safety procedures.


The highlight of the evening was the presentation of Club Awards for 2016.  The awards and the winners were:


Kathy McLeod Best Club Person: Stephen Ferguson (citation)

Presented to the Club member who has shown the most improvement in their swimming and is a dedicated role model for our Club. Evaluation is done by the President and Coaching Director. The trophy is donated by and named after Kathy McLeod who was one of the founding members in 1993.


Endurance 1000 Swim Awards: Rosemary Green & Kirk Bamford

Two awards are presented, one for a male and one for a female for participating in aerobic swims.

Scoring as per the National Endurance 1000 scoring sheet.


Club Challenge Swim Award: Gerda Williams & Mike Bennett

The award is made to the male and female swimmer with the highest aggregate of swim points attained at Club Challenge swim events.


Coaching Director's Award: Colleen Wray

This award is made at the sole discretion of the current Coaching Director and not without some difficulty.


"New" FINA Swim Excellence Award: Anwar Moreno

The award was made to the member with the highest FINA point score for an individual swim, as per the MSA Result Portal score. This award is intended to recognise the best individual swim of the year across all age groups. For 2016, in the 35 to 39 year Age Group, Anwar swam 100m Freestyle in a time of 57:58, which scored 686 points.  Ryan Spencer and Simon Lyons were 2nd and 3rd respectively, with 661 point and 620 point swims.


"New" Open Water Swim Award: 1st: Rod Baker & 2nd: Rosemary Green

The award is made to the two swimmers with the highest aggregate of swim points attained in MSWA accredited open water swim events.  In the 2015/2016 MSWA Open Water Season, Rod scored a total of 60 points, closely followed by Rosemary on 55 points.


"New" Fitness, Friendship & Fun Award: Debbie Brown (citation)

The award is made to the member who most embodies the values of Masters Swimming Australia of Fitness, Friendship and Fun. As determined by a sub-committee of the President and two co-opted members.


Congratulations to all the winners. The night concluded with convivial discussion, as well as the consumption of copious amounts of Pizza and Wine.


Let's all look forward to another great year in 2017!


Please reload

Recent Posts

August 10, 2020

Please reload

Search By Tags
Please reload

Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic


Mail: Mandurah Masters Swimming Inc. PO Box 1307, Mandurah WA 6210    Email: mandurahmannas@gmail.com